UK APE Dissertation Prizewinners Announced April 2011

The winners of the UK APE Dissertation Prizes have been announced to coincide with the London Book Fair 2011.

Two prizes were awarded, a first prize of £300 and a second of £200, and both went to students from London College of Communication (LCC): to Zoe Foster for a postgraduate dissertation on self-publishing, and Hanna Lubin for an undergraduate dissertation featuring a case study of Saga Magazine, the magazine for the over 50s.

The judges – John Whitley of the PTC (Chair), Lynette Owen, Simon Winder and Dan Franklin – commented on the high standard of submissions and range of subjects which reveals the diverse body of serious thought about publishing, its past, present and future development, going on within UK universities.